Reflections

Last week, while on a mission to get as much cleaning done as possible in one day, where that motivation went I will never know, my oldest son was in the kitchen with me quietly watching me try to figure out the self clean mode on my oven when he says “mom tell me the story again about how I tried to bake a pear” he loves this story, I don’t understand why though.

He was 3 years old, still very much into his terrible twos and had a habit of waking up in the middle of the night and making “experiments” in our refrigerator. One night I awoke suddenly at 3am to the sound of the smoke alarm blaring. I run into the kitchen/living room (it was a very small apartment) expecting to see a fire. There was no fire, instead I find that the oven is set to self clean with a single pear sitting on the top oven rack. I frantically pull on the oven door to remove the pear but of course it’s locked. I eventually manage to cancel the clean mode and get the door open. Meanwhile, my son is standing off to the side of the kitchen covering his ears from the sound of the smoke alarm. Once the situation was rectified I asked him why he did this and his response was “I waked up and was hungry”

Funny, it doesn’t feel like it’s been 9 years but I am reminded every time I go anywhere with him and he hops in the front seat instead of the back or when he is anxiously waiting to see what elective classes he can take next year in middle school. What happened to that sweet little boy that used to curl up in bed with me and watch The Wizard of Oz on a Saturday night? Or the one that couldn’t go into his preschool classroom without a hug from mom first?  Now it’s just eye rolls and “god mom!”

They grow up too fast, where does the time go?

I only hope his baby brother doesn’t get the terrible two’s as bad as he did.

Years go by like days, I feel like I’m going to wake up tomorrow and the baby will be a teenager.

Leave a comment